Alaska Child Support Services Division

Frequently Asked Questions about
New Hire Reporting


Table of Contents

  1. What must I do to comply with laws requiring New Hire Reporting?
  2. What will be done with the New Hire information?
  3. What is the definition of "employer" for New Hire reporting purposes?
  4. What is the "date of hire" considered to be?
  5. If I layoff and then re-hire an employee, or an employee returns after a leave of absence, do I need to send in another New Hire report?
  6. How soon must I submit a report after hiring someone?
  7. What form do I use to send in my New Hire reports?
  8. What must be reported on each New Hire report?
  9. Are there different reporting timeframes for employers who will submit New Hire reports electronically? What record layout should I use?
  10. Do I need to do a New Hire report on a newly hired individual who quits before the New Hire report is due?


1. What must I do to comply with laws requiring New Hire Reporting?


As an employer, you play a key role in this important program by reporting all of your newly hired employees to the Child Support Services Division within 20 days of hire or rehire.


2. What will be done with the New Hire information?

CSSD will match New Hire reports against our child support records to locate parents, establish a child support order, or enforce an existing order.


3. What is the definition of "employer" for New Hire reporting purposes?

An "employer" for New Hire reporting purposes is the same as for Federal income tax purposes [as defined by Section 3401(d) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986]. At a minimum, in any case where an employer is required to give an individual a W-2 form, the employer must meet the New Hire reporting requirements.


4. What is the "date of hire" considered to be?

The "date of hire" is considered to be the first day services are performed for wages by an individual.  If an individual is a rehire, then it is the first date services are performed for the rehire.


5. If I layoff and then re-hire an employee, or an employee returns after a leave of absence, do I need to send in another New Hire report?

If the employee returning to work is required to complete a new W-4 form, the employer must report the individual as a new hire to CSSD. If, however, the returning employee had not been formally terminated or removed from payroll records, there is no need to report that individual as a new hire.


6. How soon must I submit a report after hiring someone?

Alaska and federal law mandate that new hires be reported within 20 days of the date of hire.


7. What form do I use to send in my New Hire reports?

Employers may report by sending or faxing us a copy of the Employee's W4 or you can use the form developed by CSSD. You can obtain a copy of the Alaska New Hire Reporting Form by:

  • Printing a copy from the PDF version from the CSSD web site. (This requires Adobe Acrobat)

You may also choose to submit information:

  • by preparing a report with the required information on your own company letterhead.

8. What must be reported on each New Hire report?

Each New Hire report must contain the six data elements found on the W-4 form:

  • Employee name, address and Social Security number
  • Employer name, address and Federal Employer Identification number

Other helpful information is the employer's EIN number and the employee's date of birth, date of hire and state of hire.


9. Are there different reporting timeframes for employers who will submit New Hire reports electronically? What record layout should I use?

If you are an employer who is sending reports in by magnetic tape or electronically, two monthly transmissions must be made which are not less than 12 nor more than 16 days apart. Please call the Employer Assistance Section for format requirement. In Anchorage, the number is 269-6901. The number for the rest of Alaska is 877-269-6685.  [See Data Elements]


10. Do I need to do a New Hire report on a newly hired individual who quits before the New Hire report is due?

Yes. Because the employer/employee relationship existed and wages were earned, a New Hire report must be submitted. Even though the employment period was short, the information may be the key to locating a noncustodial parent.