Vacating a Default Child Support Order

Do you believe your child support order is higher than it should be? If
so, you should read this notice about a program that could help you if
you have a child support order issued by Alaska CSSD!

The Alaska Child Support Services Division (CSSD) may be able to vacate your
present child support order and replace it with a new order in a different amount.

This program is available to you if CSSD set your support order without having
specific information about your income -- and if your actual earnings are
generally lower than the average wages in Alaska. If you qualify for this program,
your child support debt and monthly payments could be reduced.

If you believe you meet the requirements of this program, please read this
material and complete the form in the back of this booklet.

Background of the program

A child support order establishes the amount you pay or receive for child
support. This amount should be based upon the paying parent’s income and
ability to pay. The paying parent usually provides income information such as
tax records and pay stubs, and CSSD uses a formula developed by the Supreme
Court under Civil Rule 90.3 to determine the monthly child support amount.

We requested such information from you but, for whatever reason, you could not
or would not provide sufficient proof of income. Under law, we had to complete
a child support order quickly and established the order without full information
oh your income.

Despite the lack of information, the order, called a default order, is a legal order.
Unfortunately, many default orders often don’t have much to do with the paying
parent’s actual ability to pay. CSSD knows when a default order exceeds the
parent’s ability to pay, the paying parent may decide to pay nothing or far less
than the amount owed. As the debt grows larger, the likelihood of payment
grows smaller. That’s why we asked the legislature to pass a law to help
parents with default orders. If parents have an order they can afford to pay, the
chances are much better their children will receive the child support they need.

This material probably includes some unfamiliar terms.
Please turn to glossary on Page 4 to familiarize yourself with these terms
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Why is CSSD asking if | want to change my order?

We know you have had a default order at some time in your case. This means
we set your support order without your income information. CSSD wants you to
know you have this opportunity to get an order based on actual earnings.

Alaska Statute 25.27.195 -- which became law on October 1, 1996 -- allows CSSD
to vacate its own default orders and replace them with new orders. The agency
has the authority to go back and issue an order to reflect your ability to pay - but
only if you formally ask us to vacate the default order and give us enough
information about your income.

How can a default order be changed?

If you have a default order issued by Alaska CSSD and you completed the motion
to vacate and provided the information requested, CSSD will begin working on
your case.

When CSSD determines that we have enough information to work on the case,
we will notify you and the custodial parent by first class mail.

To oppose the request, the custodial parent must file their opposition to CSSD
within 30 days. They must supply documents and information in support of the
opposition to the request. If they do not respond within 30 days; the request will
be processed by the Child Support Specialist.

When the Child Support Specialist vacates the default order, a new order will be
sent to you and the custodial parent.

Does everyone qualify for this program?

No! Alaska Statue 25.27.195 only allows CSSD to vacate its own orders and
replace them with a new order covering the same period of time. We can'’t
vacate a court order or a support order issued by another state.

Even if we can vacate the default order, it’s still up to you to provide enough
information to establish a new order. If you fail to provide income information,
the agency will cease our actions on your motion for a new order and the
original order remains in effect.

This means the total child support debt owed in the case
could be much smaller than it is today




What to do if | want a new child support order?

There is a form on Page 5 called Motion to Vacate Default Order. This must be
completed by you or your legal representative to request that the division vacate
the existing support order and replace it with a new order. You must complete
this form and provide proof of earnings for each year of the child support order.

What you should do now

Please write neatly or type your answers on the form. And please make sure
the copies of your pay stubs, tax returns and other financial records are clear
and legible.

Mail the form to the Alaska Child Support Services Division with the affidavits
requested and with your proof of earnings.

DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS. They will not be returned or maintained by CSSD.

The quicker you submit the information, the quicker you’ll see a result.

If you have any questions, and live outside of Anchorage, call a
Child Support Representative at 1-800-478-3300, option 1 extension 6861.
In Anchorage, call 269-6861
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Glossary:

Arrears

Child Support Order

Default Order

Vacate an Order

Custodial Parent

Paying Parent

Custodian

Interest is charged on late payments at the rate of 6% per
year.

The legal document tells you how much child support you
owe and how much you should pay each month. There are
two kinds of child support orders: Court orders are
established by a judge or other court official, and
administrative orders are set by a child support services
division.

A support order established without accurate information
about the parent’s actual income and ability to pay.
Sometimes this is because the parent never provided the
child support division with information about his or her
income and/or failed to answer the division’s letters. Many
default orders may be too high for the parent to pay.
Default orders may be set by the child support division or by
a court, but this program applies only to default orders
issued by the division.

Stop an order and make it void.

The parent who has primary custody of the children and
who receives the child support payments on behalf of the
children.

The parent who does not have primary custody of the
children. Sometimes if a judge orders shared custody, and
the children live with each parent for part of the year, the
parents take turns being the custodial and paying parent.
More often, the children live mostly with one parent and
visit the other.

A court-approved caretaker who is responsible for the
children. This is usually a relative such as a grandparent,
aunt or uncle. The custodian can have temporary custody
of the children or may have full legal custody. If the
children are in foster care, the custodian may even be the
State of Alaska or another state.



MOTION TO VACATE DEFAULT ORDER

| am requesting the child support order in this case be vacated and replaced with a more
accurate order. This order was not based on my ability to pay because the Child
Support Services Division did not have good information on my income and earnings at
the time it issued the order.

| am enclosing the documents checked below. | understand CSSD will send a notice to
both the custodial and paying parents when it has calculated the amount of the new
order based on my actual income.

The following documents are enclosed as proof of my earnings:

() Completed Child Support Guidelines Affidavit(s) for years to
(The affidavit form is enclosed with this packet.)

() Pay stubs for years to .

( ) Copies of signed tax returns - with all applicable schedules attached for the years
in question.

() Documentation and verification of medical coverage for the children.
() Documentation verifying retirement plan contributions.

() If self-employed, your company tax returns reflecting your business income and
expenses.

() Documentation concerning periodic benefits you receive (such as worker’s
compensation, unemployment compensation, Social Security benefits including
Children’s Insurance Benefits, veteran’s benefits, Native or corporate and
investment interest or dividends, insurance benefits, and any in-kind compensation
or monetary benefits paid by any organization).

( ) Verification of union dues, if paid.

( ) Any other information you would like us to consider.

| understand that the child support division may deny this motion if | have not provided
sufficient information to prove my income and ability to pay child support.

Signature Date Home Phone Work Phone
Printed Name Mailing Address
Social Security Number City State Zip

Names of Children

Be sure to return this page to the address on the enclosed envelope. If you have any
questions, call toll free in Alaska 1-800-478-3300 Option 1, extension 6861, in Anchorage
call 269-6861.

It's important that you call as soon as possible if there’s anything you don’t understand.
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