Alaska Child Support
Services Division
(CSSD)

Employer’s Guide to New

Hire Reporting

What is New Hire Reporting?

Alaska law requires all employers
to report to the Child Support
Services Division:

e NaAmMme

e address

e social security number

of all newly hired or rehired em-
ployees.

When must reports be sent?

New Hire Reports must be
sent to CSSD within 20
days of the date of hire or
rehire.

Who must report?

Any employer who completes a W-2

for employee wages is required to
report.

Who must be reported?

Any person, full time or part-time, who
receives a W-4 and performs service for
wages should be included in New Hire
Reporting. An employee should be
reported again if he is rehired, or if a new
W-4 form has to be completed.

What must be reported
on each new hire report?
New Hire Reporting should in-
clude these seven items found
on the W-4 form:

Employer Name

Employer Address

Employer Federal Tax Identification
Employer Phone number

Employee Name

Employee Address

Employee Social Security number
Employee Date of Birth

Employee Date of Hire/Rehire

Do I have to report Independent
contractors?

No, the State of Alaska, CSSD doesn't re-
quire employers to report independent
contractors as new hires. Independent
contractors are considered self-employed
and therefore not an employee subject to
reporting. However, their earnings are
still subject to a child support withhold-
ing order, same as any employee.
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How do I report?

AK CSSD has a web based New Hire
Reporting, through the MyAlaska Portal at
https://myAlaska.state.ak.us

Web Based New Hire Reporting

By using the web based program, you as
an employer will save time, resources and
costs. No more time consuming faxing,
making disks or postal costs.

If you do not have a myAlaska account
for your business, create one today go to:

e https://my.alaska.gov/

e Choose: Register for a myAlaska Ac-
count and follow the instructions

e Once complete go back and choose:
Sign into myAlaska

o Click the View Your Services, scroll
down and choose Submit employee
hirings to CSSD -From here employers
can report or upload their new hires
directly to CSSD.

For complete instructions on this process:
http://childsupport.alaska.gov/Employers/
Employer New Hire Reporting User Instructions.pdf

New hire reports may be sent by
mail to:

Department of Revenue

Child Support Services Division
New Hire Reporting Section, MS14
550 W 7th Ave., Suite 310
Anchorage, AK 99501-6699

Fax (907) 787-3220
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MULTISTATE EMPLOYERS

Multistate employers have two
reporting options. You may report
newly hired employees to the state
in which they are working or all new
-hires and re-hires may be

reported to one state. If one state is
chosen, the Secretary of the
Department of Health and Human
Services (DHSS) must be notified of
your point of Contact.

CSSD contact info:
CSSD (907) 269-6089 or toll free in
Alaska at (877) 269-6685 for details.

DHSS contact info:

Administration for Children and Fami-
lies, Office of Child Support
Enforcement, Multistate Employer
Notification, P.O. Box 509, Randalls
Town, MD 21133-0509

Are there penalties for failure
to report?

Alaska has chosen to focus on coopera-
tion with employers and has reduced
fines accordingly. An employer can be
fined $10 for each instance of failure to
report per employee and

$100 per employee if a conspiracy to
not report exists between the employer
and the employee.

Is New Hire Reporting
safequarded?

Yes. Safeguards are in place to pro-
tect the security and access to this
information.

What will be done with the new
hire information?

The information provided through New
Hire Reporting will help us locate par-
ents, establish and enforce child support
orders, and ensure that Alaskan children
receive fair and equitable financial sup-
port. Over time, this will result in millions
of tax dollars saved in state assistance
costs.

Isn't this information available

through department of labor
quarterly reporting?

Yes it is. However the labor information
has limited value because it takes sever-
al months for CSSD to receive it. New
Hire Reporting data is critical, because
it's current.

Will it be hard for employers to
comply with the law?

No. CSSD is making reporting easier
than ever with our web based reporting
program. You can now report directly by
accessing the myAlaska website.

DID YOU KNOW?
Employers can make payments
online!

The CSSD Business Services Portal
offers employers the convenience of
paying child support payments online
through a secure Internet website.

It's a free service at no cost to you.
This service can be used by small and
large employers.

To sign up go to:
https://my.alaska.gov/

The link is located under CSSD Busi-
ness Services Portal.

More questions? We have an
Employer Hotline

A phone number is reserved for em-
ployers only. It is available for you to
get answers to questions about new
hire reporting or wage withholding.

In Anchorage: (907)269-6089 Outside
of Anchorage:1-877-269-6685

Find us at: nttp://childsupport.alaska.gov/
Employers/Employer Information.aspx



https://my.alaska.gov/
http://childsupport.alaska.gov/Employers/Employer_Information.aspx
http://childsupport.alaska.gov/Employers/Employer_Information.aspx

